HostRocket Hosting Review 2021: Features, Pricing & More!

HostRocket may not have a name equivalent to HostGator, BlueHost, and DreamHost, but they have been around since 1999, with a headquarters and knowledge center in Clifton Park, New York.

Typically, once you visit an internet host’s website for the first time, their home page quickly tries to boast impressive speed, incredible customer support, or rock-solid uptime.

These value propositions can help non-technical customers immediately capture the first benefit they can get from signing up.

Hostrocket hosting review

But not HostRocket hosting. Instead, they lead with:

Shared SSD hosting.

Hey? Interesting approach …

To find out what they are good at, we bought and discovered a WordPress website on HostRocket’s “shared” plan and we were reviewing its performance stats, including uptime and speed, for an unbiased review.

Read on to find out if HostRocket is good.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:Our Verdict: 3.0⭐⭐⭐
SPEED:522 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME:99.86% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT:Ticketing, Knowledge Base
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Weebly, Drupal, phpBB, OpenCart, etc.
FEATURES:Unlimited Bandwidth, Storage, Websites, and 10GB Email Storage, DirectAdmin Control Panel
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, Reseller VPS, Dedicated, Windows VPS, Linux VPS, Reseller Cloud Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Not Free
PRICING:Starting at $5.99/month

Alternative Hosting Providers


MDDHosting Review 2021

Editors’ Choice

Bluehost Review

Notable Features:
• Very Good Uptime
• Easy to Use
• 24/7 Customer Support

Check Price

MDDHosting Review 2021

Editors’ Choice

Hostinger Review

Notable Feature:
• Extremely Affordable
• Top 3 Load Time
• Multilingual Support

Check PriceCheck Price

MDDHosting Review 2021

Editors’ Choice

A2 Reviews

Notable Features:
• Fastest Provider
• Good Uptime
• Free Site Migrations

Check Price


Pros of HostRocket Hosting


HostRocket starts out strong, providing decent customer support and plenty of apps to choose from.

Here’s a quick overview:

1. Decent Loading Time – 522 ms

HostRocket’s speed hasn’t been exactly high during our recent testing periods. For example, their average speed last year was 863ms and if you look at the data for 2018, it took an average of more than a second to load. So we weren’t too optimistic about what to expect.

However, we were positively surprised when HostRocket delivered an average page load time of 522 ms for the past 12 months, finally winning an area in our professional’s section.

Hostrocket hosting review
HostRocket average speed

2. Good Support (Yet Limited)

HostRocket hosting only provides customer support through a ticketing system and phone (no live chat or email).

Initially, we weren’t very happy, as violations often take years to resolve (on internet speed anyway).

Hostrocket hosting review

But we were pleasantly proven wrong when only 11 minutes later we received a solution. Beyond the speed of his response, it had also been a helpful and informed response.

3. You Can Choose Between Two Server Locations

If we had a category for “things that are pretty good, but … meh”, this is capable of winning it.

The reason?

They allow you to decide which data center you want to use. In theory, that would be an advantage if you are in one country trying to serve clients in another country.

The only trick?

They have two data centers within the US; Chicago and New York. That, if you don’t know the geography of the United States, it’s not that far away. Like, but a two-hour plane ride, close.

In theory, this is usually an honest benefit.

Actually, it’s just okay.

4. Over 250 App Integrations

HostRocket has integrations with 250+ popular apps (like WordPress, Drupal, Magento, Zen Cart, Open Cart, and more), which should help you get started one tap faster. This is often another small benefit worth mentioning before moving on.

Cons of HostRocket Hosting


Despite HostRocket’s good initial start, they quickly faded down the stretch. Unfortunately, they encountered a couple of obstacles along the way.

1. Uptime of 99.86% Over Last 12-Months

The industry-standard uptime is 99.93%.

That means you will expect little to no downtime (~ 26 minutes) in a month, which shouldn’t affect your sales or customer service too much.

HostRocket, however, was set to hit an average 99.86% uptime with a good 12 hours of downtime.

Overall, HostRocket’s performance during this category is a mix of great and bad: in some months they were ready to perform at 99.99% and in other months the results were not the least bit satisfactory.

Their Terms of Service page says the following:

“If you think your site did not reach the guaranteed 99.5 percent during a given month, please submit a trouble ticket stating your situation and we will review it with you and credit your account accordingly.”

So at the very least, we managed this, which is good.

Hostrocket hosting review
HostRocket average uptime
Average uptime of the last 12 months:
  • January 2021: 99.90%
  • December 2020: 99.98%
  • November 2020: 99.99%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 99.99%
  • August 2020: 99.68%
  • July 2020: 99.11%
  • June 2020: 99.99%
  • May 2020: 99.77%
  • April 2020: 99.99%
  • March 2020: 99.96%
  • February 2020: 99.97%

2. Relatively Expensive Hosting

HostRocket’s cheapest plan starts at $ 5.99 per month.

That’s already expensive (especially considering its performance so far).

It gets even worse because you have to sign up for 2 years and pay in advance to enjoy that (already) inflated fee.

They say you get what you buy. That is valid for some hosts that we have reviewed, such as A2 Hosting.

But so far, not HostRocket.

3. Still Charge a ‘Setup Fee’ ($29.99!)

Most web hosting companies will be happy to get your site up and running for free. They will help migrate an existing site or maybe contribute a free name for a year.

HostRocket, unfortunately, is one of the few that still charges a $ 29.99 “setup fee” if you choose to pay monthly or semi-annually.

4. Expensive Domain Name Registration ($20!)

HostRocket provides a free name when registering.

Additional domain names cost around $ 20 a year, although the current fee is usually half that of other sites.

Nickle and dimming at its finest.

HostRocket Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Sharing Hosting: A short rundown of their shared hosting plans is given here:


Shared Web Hosting Plan
Pricing$5.99/month
WebsitesUnlimited
BandwidthUnmetered
StorageUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimited

Please note that this price is for your two-year plans.

Quick Facts

  • Free domain? Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: lengthy checkout process. this will be improved.
  • Payment Methods: MasterCard.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Shared hosting accounts cannot use 15 percent of the total bandwidth, 10 percent of RAM, 10 percent of the full number of active connections, and 15 percent of the total disk space from a server.
  • Upsells: a couple of upsells.
  • Account Activation: Instant activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Provide “easy installations” to help you install your favorite CMS and applications with just a few clicks.

Do We Recommend HostRocket?

Yes and no.

They are somewhat average.

When you compare your performance to your hard costs, this is what you get:

Your support is sweet, but not so good. Your uptime is not good.

However, his speed has improved.

Overall, the “value” of HostRocket is too average compared to the high cost and additional setup fee. I’d be happier using another host instead.


The best alternatives for HostRocket are:

Bluehost
Very Good Uptime | Easy to Use for Beginners | 24/7 Support
Read Bluehost review

HostingerHostinger
Affordable | Top 3 Load Time | Multilingual Support
Read Hostinger review

DreamHost
Best Monthly Plan | 97-Day Refund time| Unlimited Bandwidth
Read DreamHost review



FAQ’s

For FAQ’s about choosing the best web hosting providers for you go through our detailed article over here

Further reading: Best Cheap Web Hosting in 2021!

To Read more similar articles click here


Thanks for visiting our Website. If you appreciate our work, kindly show us some support in our comments section 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.