Hostwinds Review 2021: Features, Pricing & More!

Hostwinds was founded in 2010 and maybe a US-based online hosting company that provides consumers with an all-in-one experience.

Hostwinds not only offers to host services, but also includes free domain access, unlimited email addresses, and thus the Weebly website builder.

Hostwinds Review 2021

But how does Hostwinds measure up to the top web hosting services we’ve reviewed?

To decide if they are almost as good as they boast, and if they are the right option for you, we looked at each part of the shared hosting services provided by Hostwinds.

So, let’s calculate what its pros and cons are.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:Our Verdict: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
SPEED:897 ms (June 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME:99.97% (June 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Email, Ticketing, Knowledge Base
APPS:WordPress, Joomla, Weebly, Drupal, etc.
FEATURES:Enhanced Speed, SSL Security, Unlimited Space/Bandwidth, Free Domain/Email, Dedicated IP Address
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, Business, Reseller, White Label, VPS, Cloud, Dedicated
SITE TRANSFER:Free for 60 days after a purchase
PRICING:Starting at $3.29/month (Renews at $6.99/mo)

alternative hosting providers

Pros of Hostwinds Hosting


1. Free Migration

Free migration from an existing site to a new host can be a key feature we look for during a web host. That’s something Hostwinds offers free for 60 days.

Of course, if you don’t use it by then, the offer starts at the table. But who waits two months to transfer their site to their new host? We hope 60 days is a reasonable amount of time, you shouldn’t have a difficult meeting.

After purchasing the hosting package of your choosing, you may initiate your site migration.

The migration is handled entirely by Hostwinds technicians. The start of the method is often cleared with just a couple of steps:

  1. Contact Hostwinds technical department and open a replacement ticket.
  2. Hostwinds technicians will start working on it.
  3. As the process continues, the technical team will contact you if a problem arises.
  4. Your domain will be completely transferred to the new hosting network until finished.

2. Responsive Customer Service

Hostwinds boasts of their impressive customer service and claims that this is usually something that sets them apart from other competitors. Not to mention, they need to win multiple awards for excellent customer service.

Of course, we wanted to check that out. Especially live chat as 92% of consumers feel satisfied once they use live chat while conducting business, another communication option.

We are happy to mention that Hostwinds has a helpful and responsive live chat support department that addresses the requirements of potential and existing users quickly.

When we asked our initial question, the support team took two minutes to respond. That’s cool in the least. it had been the right time for them to receive the query, find the correct answer, and then respond.

Hostwinds Review 2021

They were quick, gave us complete answers, and provided links to help with more details.

Overall, the live chat delegate was incredibly responsive, competent, and friendly.

Hostwinds also has a phone option, a knowledge base, and a ticketing scheme where you can submit an issue that will be resolved on your behalf by support staff.

3. Free SSL Certificate

Your business website needs security. This is usually especially true if you have any e-commerce components on your site. If customers can’t trust the security of your site, they won’t be able to do business with you.

Fortunately, Hostwinds provides SSL certificates for free with all three shared hosting plans.

A significant advantage of an SSL certificate is that it makes your URL HTTPS rather than quality HTTP.

Why does it matter?

Google marks HTTP sites as insecure, which can drive potential customers away from your site in droves. If Google flags your website and calls it unsafe, no one is going to trust you with your personal information.

4. Free Domain and Unlimited Email Accounts

All Hostwinds shared hosting plans come with a free domain and free unlimited email accounts.

Typically, with other hosts, lower-tier plans will not include these bonuses, and email will have limited support to the extent you choose.

However, Hostwinds goes one step further and helps establish an aura of knowledge around your business with branded email addresses and a free name.

It is always good to determine a number that is willing to offer you more regardless of the scope of service you have chosen. With Hostwinds, there are no “elite” levels.

5. Access to Weebly Website Builder

By giving you access to the Weebly website builder, Hostwinds becomes an all-in-one service.

By that, we mean that you will make your website, host it and get your domain in one place. You don’t need to skip and have three or four different accounts with multiple providers.

Also, Weebly is one of the simplest website builders that we have reviewed. That is another advantage!

6. Unlimited Disk Space with All Plans

Another thing we love about Hostwinds is that it has no disk space limitations. Unlimited capacity is provided in all joint hosting arrangements.

It would be easy to create elite tiers with unlimited storage, forcing customers to pay more if they need to own a more extensive website. However, with Hostwinds, you will make your site as big or small as you see fit.

7. Good Uptime

Hostwinds guarantees 99.9999% uptime. this suggests that the network that Hostwind uses, and therefore the power for it, could be active without downtime exceeding 31.6 seconds for a year.

That’s extremely impressive, but we also want to test these services for ourselves and verify that these claims are accurate. To do this, we create a test site on the hosting platform and measure the recorded uptime over an extended period of your time.

Our latest eight-month tests have shown solid results – an average of 99.97% uptime with 25 outages. Although they were unable to continue their uptime guarantee, it is still a reasonably good result.

stats

Here’s the last 8-months average uptime:

  • January 2021: 100%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 100%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.94%
  • July 2020: 99.90%
  • June 2020: 99.96%

8. Easy to Use Dashboard and Control Panel

The dashboard of Hostwinds is intuitive and futuristic looking. Navigating there is quick and from there you can view your territories, programs, billing, and more.

Hostwinds Review 2021

As a control panel, Hostwinds uses cPanel and you can reach it from the client region under the “Actions” tab.

Hostwinds Review 2021

Although cPanel may seem like a cluttered touch initially, there is a query bar included at the top of the page that makes things easy for you. So if you are trying to find information about your bandwidth, you just have to start typing the word “bandwidth” in the bar, and therefore the icon will appear automatically.

Cons of Hostwinds Hosting


1. Limited Server Locations

One of the problems we had with Hostwinds was a shortage of server locations. In fact, there are only three Hostwinds data centers, two are located within the US and one is in Amsterdam. Compared to, for example, Liquid Web, which has over 20 global data centers, that’s not tons.

Hostwinds Review 2021 data centers

That theoretically means that for users outside the US and Europe, sites would respond slower.

In the future, we expect Hostwinds will extend its activities and will also bring more data centers to other continents.

2. Backups and Monitoring Come with Extra Fee

Hostwinds offers cloud monitoring and backup, but you’ll have to pay more for it.

Hostwinds monitoring is priced at $ 24 for one year and Web Hosting Cloud backups are $ 36 per year. These are services that many other hosts offer for free and they seem to cost nothing here.

3. Prorated Money-Back Guarantee

Hostwinds offers a money-back guarantee on their hosting plans, which is great in theory. Unfortunately, the amount you simply receive is prorated.

That means if you bought a month and decided to cancel after each week, you will be refunded from the monthly fee. I mean, they are still charging you for the time you just used.

The point of a money-back guarantee is that you are testing the service without any risk. If they can still charge you for the time you simply used the platform, there is still some danger in testing the merchandise.

4. Slow Speed 897 ms

Hostwinds offers a money-back guarantee on their hosting plans, which is great in theory. Unfortunately, the amount you simply receive is prorated.

That means if you bought a month and decided to cancel after each week, you will be refunded from the monthly fee. I mean, they are still charging you for the time you just used.

The point of a money-back guarantee is that you are testing the service without any risk. If they can still charge you for the time you simply used the platform, there is still some danger in testing the merchandise.

graph

There are a number of explanations for the importance of fast page speed. For starters, 14% of visits to your website will leave if your page loads are sluggish and start shopping on another site, and 1 out of 2 people expect a site that can be loaded in less than 2 seconds.

Hostwinds Cost, Plans, Payment Methods & Quick Facts

There are three Joint Web Hosting options at Hostwinds, all of which are super cheap. When you sign up for engagement intervals of 24 or 36 months, it gets much cheaper.


Basic PlanAdvanced PlanUltimate Plan
Pricing$3.29/month
Renews at $6.99/mo
$4.23/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$5.17/month
Renews at $10.99/mo
Domains14Unlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUn-meteredUnmetered
StorageUnmeteredUnmeteredUn-metered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUn-limitedUnlimited

Quick Facts

  • Domain: Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy and straightforward.
  • Money-BackPro-rated money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit/Debit cards, PayPal, Bitcoin.
  • Clauses and Secret Fees: No hidden fees and clauses.
  • Upsells: No upsells.
  • Account Activation: Instant activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard: Easy-to-Use cPanel.
  • Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.) installation: Softaculous Auto Installer with hundreds of popular apps accessible.
  • Other FeaturesDedicated IP, regular backups, web page creator, free transfers of websites, and more.

Do We Recommend Hostwinds?

Yes.

Hostwinds showed solid uptime (except for one month) and that we found them to be a really capable, impressive, and affordable service.

You get free SSL security, great customer support, and a free domain and email service. All this is often on top of a vast all-in-one experience with access to an excellent website builder and unlimited space and bandwidth.

Even though their average load time for the last eight months was rather slow, they have already got shown improved results, and that we hope to ascertain even better outcomes within the future.

FAQs:

For more FAQs about web hosting, check out our Answers Click here

To Read more similar articles click here

Thanks for visiting our Website. If you appreciate our work, kindly show us some support in our comments section 

Have you ever used Hostwinds? Please suggest posting a comment below, positive or poor, as long as it is beneficial to our guests, it does not really matter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *