MidPhase Hosting Review 2021: Features, Pricing & More!

MidPhase hosting is reasonable.

Like four dollars a month cheap.

If life has taught us anything, it is that something cheap is often not good.

I say, there must be horrible uptime or spotty consumer facilities like Web Hosting Pad or HostMetro for MidPhase. Correct?

MidPhase Hosting Review 2021

Lately, four dollars doesn’t even cover a cup of coffee. How the heck do you cover the incredibly high costs to get and run hosting servers? Not to mention the rent and employees from its headquarters in beautiful Salt Lake City, Utah.

But MidPhase hosting is not a fast operation. They have been around since 1998, they have teams in the UK, Ukraine, and India. They have since merged with UK2 Group in 2007 (which also owns WestHost).

The point is: this is not your first detour.

We purchased your cheapest shared hosting package and found a test site for an extended period of time to see your uptime and pace.

How did MidPhase hosting perform?

Read on to search.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:Our Verdict: 3.5⭐⭐⭐
SPEED:939 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME:99.96% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT:24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Ticketing, and Knowledge Base
APPS:Softaculous App Installer for the Most Popular Apps Like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and more
FEATURES:Unlimited bandwidth and data, free domain, one page, unlimited addresses, 30-day money-back guarantee, backups for nightly accounts, and more
HOSTING PLANS:Shared, VPS Cloud, and Dedicated Hosting
SITE TRANSFER:Free
PRICING:Starting at $3.95/mo (renews at $6.95/mo)

Alternative Hosting Providers


WestHost Hosting Review 2021

Editors’ Choice

Bluehost Review

Notable Features:
• Very Good Uptime
• Easy to Use
• 24/7 Customer Support

Check Price

Editors’ Choice

Hostinger Review

Notable Feature:
• Extremely Affordable
• Top 3 Load Time
• Multilingual Support

Check PriceCheck Price

Editors’ Choice

A2 Reviews

Notable Features:
• Fastest Provider
• Good Uptime
• Free Site Migrations

Check Price


Pros of MidPhase Hosting


Sitting on the phone with someone who doesn’t know your language for 3 hours is the first thing to do with $4 hosting as you want to find out why their website is down, again. Luckily, that’s not even close to being reliable.

This is how MidPhase hosting performed during our 12-month review process.

1. 99.96% Uptime Over 12-Months

Over the past 12 months, MidPhase delivered 99.96% average uptime with one tap for 3.5 hours of downtime. In all, they had 21 cuts.

That’s a reasonably good result, and it shows that MidPhase is a reliable host.

MidPhase Hosting Review 2021
MidPhase average uptime
Average uptime of the last 12 months:
  • January 2021: 99.98%
  • December 2020: 99.99%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 100%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.60%
  • July 2020: 99.99%
  • June 2020: 100%
  • May 2020: 100%
  • April 2020: 99.96%
  • March 2020: 100%
  • February 2020: 100%

2. Responsive Customer Support

MidPhase hosting provides telephone assistance, a ticketing system, and also a 24/7 live chat option.

We tested their live chat option to see how responsive MidPhase’s customer support is.

Your customer representative was connected with us in a moment and answered our simple question (related to site migration) quickly.

In the past, we have also tested their ticketing system and also received a quick and well-informed response.

MidPhase Hosting Review 2021

In addition to the client options mentioned above, you can also have the possibility to explore their vast domain of knowledge.

3. Inexpensive

Did we mention that MidPhase is cheap?

A long-term plan with its cheapest shared hosting option costs $ 3.95 per month. (GreenGeeks is priced similarly).

The capture? It’s a minimum one-year commitment (which can be an industry-standard gimmick, unfortunately).

They offer a real month-to-month plan that starts at $ 7.95 per month (it’s worth noting that other hosts require a 12-month minimum registration, so this is often an honest option in the short term).

4. Free Migrations & Transfers

MidPhase bucks an industry-standard trend by providing free site migration services for all cPanel accounts.

To be honest, this sounded too good to be true. Many hosts can provide a site transfer for zero dollars. on the other hand, they will charge you dearly for more.

Others will charge you up to $ 150 to maneuver anything to the bare minimum.

However, not MidPhase. It’s good to make sure that despite your budget focus, you are not nickel-and-dimed customers to catch up.

We followed up with their customer service representatives to verify everything. And we are happy to announce that they will not charge more for additional sites as long as the accounts provide access to cPanel.

5. 99.9% Uptime Guarantee

Our MidPhase hosting test showed excellent uptime for the past few years.

That’s no surprise given your commitment to uptime.

They have a permanent page on their site that provides real-time updates as well as previous reports or incidents.

But that’s not the simplest part.

For their hosting bundles, they also have a ‘99.9 percent uptime guarantee’.

Go below that threshold and you will invite a credit on the account.

However, backed up by our experience thus far, thankfully you won’t have to ask them about this too often.

99.98% is the smallest monthly uptime statistic we have seen. And that is way over the standard of 99.9 percent they maintain.

Cons of MidPhase Hosting


The four-dollar accommodation may not be entirely perfect. There are a couple of drawbacks to think about if you value other hosting features in addition to saving the most important ones.

1. Slow Average Speed

MidPhase hosting uptime is excellent. Their customer service is attentive.

Sadly, for page load times and rpm, no parallel can be said. An average speed of 939 ms was seen in our last 12-month study.

MidPhase Hosting review 2021
MidPhase average speed

It’s not terrible, not great either.

But cheap! And almost the fastest for that price range.

If speed can be a top priority (which it should be for business sites because it affects usability, conversions, and search rankings), you may want to weigh pricing and benefits right now.

2. Unclear Money-Back Guarantee

Many web servers offer a typical 30-day money-back guarantee. Some even go as far in this era to 90 (or 97!) Days to make sure you’re happily satisfied with their service before you commit.

For their WordPress and joint hosting plan services, we find references to a 30-day money-back guarantee. For some of the other programs, please note that we do not find similar warranties.

There are also a lot of help desk responses (like this one), confirming that there is a 30-day refund.

They recommend reading their terms for more details, but that’s part of the problem – there’s not a lot of data there either.

So we hope it’s okay in 30 days.

Something to think about and possibly ask about whether you’re trying to take advantage of that low rate in the long run.

3. Security? Anyone, Anyone? Bueller?

With a few quick taps, several web servers can have an extended list of available security applications to lock the site down and keep it secure from nefarious attempts. Some are also going to go the extra mile, performing proactive repair programs to ensure you’re all right.

We couldn’t find equivalent support options with MidPhase. Another possibility to think about or ask when registering.

4. High Renewal Pricing (Across All Products)

MidPhase’s tag price of $ 3.95 / mo for its personal web hosting package looks pretty good on the surface.

However, if you’ve been in the game as long as we have, you know that advertised prices generally come with a couple of “traps” that will haunt you if you’re not careful.

Sadly, MidPhase hosting is no different during this case.

The biggest drawback, during this case, is the high renewal cost when your first plan expires. Its price will basically double across the board regardless of the plans you select.

Personal Web Hosting, for example, ranges from $ 3.95 / month to $ 6.95 / month. The Professional plan goes from $ 4.95 / month to $ 8.95 / month, while the Business one also increases from $ 5.95 / month to $ 10.95 / month.

What a bummer, right?

Except here’s the thing:

This is not even the worst increase we found.

No, that luxury is reserved for domain registrations. the primary year will cost you $ 15.99. It is a bit high, but not regrettable in the grand scheme of things.

The problem arises when it is time to renew the price of the domain. Higher than usual renovation prices are quite common within the hosting space. But it is not in domains. You pay your annual fee and it almost never changes, regardless of how long you have it.

Pricing:

MidPhase, on the other hand, will increase the price of your domain from $ 15.99 / year to $ 45.99 / year. That is absurd if we are honest.

Basically, they are taking advantage of customers, knowing full well that the probability that you will be eager to move your domain or hosting after the elementary year is almost nil. Therefore, they are taking advantage of switching costs’ to increase costs.

Call us crazy, but we are not big fans of business practices that are designed to specifically punish good and loyal customers.

MidPhase Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here may be a quick overview of MidPhase hosting plans to help you determine if they are right for you:


Personal PlanProfessional PlanBusiness Plan
Pricing$3.95/month
Renews at $6.95/mo
$4.95/month
Renews at $8.95/mo
$5.95/month
Renews at $10.95/mo
Websites13Unlimited
BandwidthUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
StorageUnmeteredUnmeteredUnmetered
Email AccountsUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Other Features• 1 Subdomain• 5 Subdomains• Unlimited Subdomains
• Free SSL Security
• Free Dedicated IP

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes, with all plans.
  • Ease of Signup: Friendly and easy-to-use three-step registration process.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: MasterCard, PayPal.
  • Secret costs and clauses: On all shared hosting accounts, there is a limit of 200,000 files and a total database capacity of 10 GB. Exceeding this cap can lead to your account being terminated.
  • Upsells: Lots of upsells. It’s not fun.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick installation of a Simple round-trip of popular CMS and apps with Softaculous.

Do We Recommend MidPhase?

Yeah. Yes. But some better alternatives are open.

There are serious questions to consider before registering with MidPhase. Mainly speed. But also the money-back guarantee and security measures.

Regardless, if you’re trying to find a fast, cheap option with good uptime and support, MidPhase hosting could be worth a roll of the dice.

Best Alternatives for MidPhase are:

Bluehost
Very Good Uptime | Easy to Use for Beginners | 24/7 Support
Read Bluehost review

HostingerHostinger
Affordable | Top 3 Load Time | Multilingual Support
Read Hostinger review

DreamHost
Best Monthly Plan | 97-Day Refund time| Unlimited Bandwidth
Read DreamHost review


FAQ’s

Go through our detailed article for FAQs about selecting the best web hosting providers for you over here

Further reading: Best Cheap Web Hosting in 2021!

To Read more similar articles click here


Thanks for visiting our Website. If you appreciate our work, kindly show us some support in our comments section 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.